Quick Links

Quick Links

Westfield Primary

Curriculum Overviews

Reception Curriculum

When children first come in to school they are following the early years foundation stage (EYFS) programme of study - for children up to 5 years old.

This is a broad and balanced curriculum designed to help children experience the school environment and become independent learners through play.

The EYFS is split into three prime areas of learning and development:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

There are four areas through which these are applied:

  • Literacy (Reading and Writing)
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Each area of learning and development is implemented through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Each child is continually assessed and within their activities.

Throughout this year you and the teacher will share information about the progress the children are making in and out of school.

The phonics programme that we follow is "Sounds Write". This is used alongside our reading scheme "Dandelion Readers". 

In mathematics, we follow the White Rose Scheme of Learning for Reception.

Key Stage 1 - Years 1 & 2

In Year 1 and Year 2 the children will follow the Key Stage 1 programmes of study. Throughout this time your child will be assessed against national standards in speaking and listening, reading, writing and maths.

At the end of Year 1 there is a phonics screening test, which assesses their phonic skills.

At the end of Key Stage 1 in Year 2 they are assessed through SATs tests (statutory assessment tests) and teacher assessments.

Teacher assessment is used continually throughout the year for all pupils based on nationally agreed standards in order to plan future learning.

At the end of Key Stage 1 (end of Year 2) assessment data for the school is reported nationally, although individual pupils are not identified.

It is not possible to pass or fail these tests; they are simply a measure of progress, and also one of the means by which the government is able to measure the effectiveness of the school.

In KS1, we continue to follow the Sounds Write phonics programme alongside "Dandelion Readers".

In mathematics, we follow the White Rose Primaryschemes of learning.

  Year 1 CurriculumYear 2 Curriculum

Key Stage 2 - Years 3 to 6

Children follow the Key Stage 2 programmes of study from 7-11 years old (Year 3 to Year 6). We cover all of the statutory elements of the national curriculum. Through our topics we aim to engage pupils in their learning, making meaningful links through a cross-curricular approach in order to support the development of skills. 

As at Key Stage 1, your child’s progress is carefully monitored and regularly assessed throughout Key Stage 2 using teaching assessment and some written tests.

At the end of Year 6, pupils complete national curriculum tests (sometimes referred to as SATs) which provide information about how they are progressing compared to other children of the same age nationally. School data for pupil achievement at the end of Year 6 is collated by beds borough and reported within the local authority, although individual pupils are not identified.

Year 3 Curriculum

Year 4_Curriculum

Year 5 Curriculum

Year 6 Curriculum

 Subject Overviews

Westfiled Primary English

Westfield Primary Reading

Westfield Primary Mathematics

Westfield Primary Science

Westfield Primary Music

Westfield Primary DT

Westfield Primary RE

Westfield Primary PE

Westfield Primary Computing Westfield Primary GeographyWestfield Primary French